Foreign Cover Friday: Dash And Lily’s Book of Dares

Foreign Cover Friday is a weekly meme hosted by The Reading Fever, where foreign covers of the books we know and love are spotlighted and discussed. To join, either pick your favorite foreign cover, or pick many foreign covers, and start discussing!

This week’s featured cover is:

Dash And Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan

This is the original English cover. I really like it. I love how the setting is a street and how the title and authors are written on those signs. I also like the heart. But, most of all, I like that it is winter and snow. AND heart snow! Perfect cover combination!

This is another version of the English paperback edition. It’s OK, but I don’t think it really goes well with the story and it gives the impression of a children’s book.

The cover above is the German cover.  I like it, it’s cute with that snowglobe and all this snow, but if I would’ve designed this cover, I totally would have ‘erased’ that green thingy hanging above the title.

Translation: Dash And Lily’s Winter Wonderland

These are the Spanish and Italian covers. I don’t really like the Spanish cover, even though they tried to keep the same street theme, that girl ruins everything. And again, it gives the impression of a children’s book.

As for the Italian cover, I LOVE it! I always liked those scrapbook-y themes! And this one is just great! I also like the photos they chose, I think they suit the characters in the book. I’m also in love with the title!

Spanish translation: Book for two

Italian translation: How to spell ‘I love you’

Well, hope you liked it and tune in next week for more Foreign Cover Friday!


3 thoughts on “Foreign Cover Friday: Dash And Lily’s Book of Dares

  1. Pingback: Decembrie la pachet! « Lost in a bookshelf

Leave a Reply

