Review – The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Title: The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Release Date: April 24th 2012
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Source: NetGalley
Add it: Goodreads
Buy it: Amazon / The Book Depository

Synopsis:

Allison ‘Allie’ Sekemoto fights for survival in the Fringe, the outermost circle of New Covington, a vampire-ruled city.  But one night, after a hunt for food goes awry, she ends up in the middle of nowhere. And in New Covington, nowhere means rabids. After a fierce fight with one, she gets bitten by the rabid. But Kanin, a vampire, finds her and gives her a choice: either die or become what she despises the most: a vampire. But her instincts for survival finally tell her to choose the latter. But things get complicated after a while, and Allison is forced to run away.  In her run for survival, she finds Zeke. But will he accept her the way she is and see past the Vampire inside her?

My review:

*A big thank you to NetGalley and HarlequinTeen for giving me the chance to read this amazing book before it was released.*

Warning! This review may contain traces of my overly exerted fandom for this book.

Let me start by saying I extremely-mega-really-super loved this book! It’s just perfect. PERFECT.

I don’t know why I requested The Immortal Rules in the first place. Usually, I’m not a really big fan of vampire books. I guess it was because everyone was talking about it, saying what a great book it will be and curiosity was just stabbing me in the back.  But this book didn’t meet my expectations. It overruled them. Yes, it did. Kagawa just knows how to write a good book.

There wasn’t a single moment I got bored and thought about putting the book down, like it happened with some previous books I’ve read. No, this book just kept me turning the pages, wanting more and more and more.

What I really liked is the way the book is written. I could really feel every single one of Allie’s emotions, thoughts and heartbeats. I felt the struggle inside her, with her being a vampire now but with her real self not wanting to hurt people. It’s one of the very few books that actually made me cry a little.

I also loved the relationship between Allie and Zeke. It’s one of the most beautiful, heart-wrenching, sweet and true love stories I’ve ever seen. It’s just pure love and struggles.

I could go on and on rambling about this book. There’s just so many great things I could say about it. And I think I’m gonna buy the whole Iron Fey series just for the sake of reading more of Kagawa’s work. I’m literally craving more! Her writing is just so vibrant… The Immortal Rules is perfect. Pure awosemeness. Go read it. Now.

My rating: 5 ♥/5 stars

The Immortal Rules Quotes:

“Today for dessert, we have apple pie, blueberry pie and Ezekiel pie.”

“Did he teach you how to bore you opponents to sleep? Because I think I missed that lesson.”

“You are a monster.” Kanin’s deep voice droned in my head again, as I forced myself to move, to walk away. “You will always be a monster, there is no turning back from it. But what type of monster you become is entirely up to you.”

“He smiled, a real one this time, though his voice remained teasing. “So, what do you think I am?” Naive, I thought at once. Naive, brave, selfless, incredible and much too kind to survive this world. It’ll break you in the end, if you keep going like this. Good things never last.”

8 thoughts on “Review – The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

  1. Mi-a placut mult recenzia. Trebuie sa spun ca sunt un pic geloasa intrucat mie nu mi-au aprobat requestul pe netgalley *sigh* asa ca va trebui sa mai astept pana sa citesc acest roman😀

  2. Abia astept sa o citesc.. de cand am citit The Iron King si am vazut cat de bine scrie Julie, sunt curioasa de toate cartile ei ^^

Leave a Reply

